Each year, a variety of lectures on campus bring some of the world’s foremost experts and thinkers to campus.

Mackin-Mailander Lecture Series
The Mackin-Mailander Lecture Series, established in 1997, most recently featured Animal Planet star and conservationist Jeff Corwin, who spoke to a crowd of approximately 2,000 people. Other notable speakers in the series have been Maya Angelou, Yolanda King, Mark Plotkin, Robert F. Kennedy Jr., Danny Glover and Felix Justice.

Each year, the series features a prominent outside speaker, a faculty lecture and an alumni lecture. The series was established after the university received gifts from two alums, Mary Mackin ’34 and Verna Slattery-Mailander ’20, to establish an endowed lecture series.

Mary Murphy, BVM Endowed Lecture in Biology
The Mary Murphy, BVM Endowed Lecture in Biology is another annual lecture that is prominent on campus. This discipline-specific was established in memory of long-time Clarke faculty member Mary Murphy, BVM, to invite noted scientists to present an annual lecture in biology at Clarke.

The lecture exposes Clarke science majors to cutting-edge research and provides science and health professional majors with insights into the practical application of scientific research in post-graduate careers. At the same time, it is open to members of the greater Dubuque community as an opportunity to learn more about current advances in basic science and medical research.

The lecture has featured noted HIV researcher David I. Watkins, sports medicine expert Marilyn Pink, and cancer expert Mark Lingen.

Danielle Pierce Memorial Lecture
The Danielle Pierce Memorial Lecture was established in memory of Clarke biology major Danielle Pierce, who suffered from manic depression.  Each year the lecture, which deals with the subject of depression or related topic.

Nancy Dickerson Whitehead Medallion
In the past, Clarke University has awarded the Nancy Dickerson Whitehead Medallion of Excellence in the Field of Mass Communication to prominent figures in mass communicaiton. The awards were presented on campus to five distinguished professionals for outstanding achievement and recognition.

The award is named after the late Nancy Dickerson Whitehead who attended Clarke and was a pioneer woman in broadcasting.

  • Support Clarke - Spring
  • Arts at Clarke 2016
  • Transfer Fall 2015