Clarke Student Receives $10,000 Scholarship to Teach Secondary Mathematics

posted on September 13, 2007

The Mathematics Education Trust (MET) of the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics (NCTM) has awarded Kim Kanaly, a junior at Clarke College, the 2007–08 Prospective Secondary Teacher Course Work Scholarship. Supported by the Texas Instruments Demana-Waits Fund, the $10,000 scholarship will help Kanaly continue her undergraduate studies in mathematics education. Kanaly is a native of Marengo, Ill.

This year MET awarded the Demana-Waits Scholarship to three students who are full-time College sophomores preparing to become certified teachers of secondary school mathematics. The scholarship provides funding for tuition, books, and other academic expenses.

Kanaly earned the scholarship on the basis of her excellent academic achievement, extracurricular activities, and community volunteer projects, which demonstrate the leadership needed for all future math teachers. When asked about her future career, Kanaly said, “I want students to enjoy math, and I want to teach them to appreciate critical thinking, problem solving, and analysis. I want to guide students to grow and learn, and I hope to be a role model, to make a difference, and leave my mark on the lives of my students.”

Kanaly is on the Dean’s List (Highest Honors) and is a student member of the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics. She is a mathematics tutor and anticipates an internship with the Clarke College Mathematics Department in spring 2008.

Kanaly also teaches Sunday School and Vacation Bible School and has an internship as a campus ministry coordinator this semester. She is a member of the Mathematics Club and Teachers for Tomorrow.

For nearly 30 years, the Mathematics Education Trust has been supporting the improvement of mathematics teaching and learning through the funding of grants, awards, and other projects by the generosity of contributors to classroom-based efforts that benefit all students. MET provides funds to support classroom teachers in improving classroom practices and increasing teachers’ mathematical knowledge. For more information about this and other MET awards, visit

The National Council of Teachers of Mathematics was founded in 1920 and is a nonprofit, nonpartisan education association.  With 100,000 members and more than 230 Affiliates in the United States and Canada, NCTM is the world’s largest organization dedicated to improving mathematics education for all students.  The Council’s Principles and Standards for School Mathematics provides guidelines for excellence in mathematics education.  Its recently released Curriculum Focal Points for Prekindergarten through Grade 8 Mathematics identifies the most important mathematical topics for each grade level.


  • Summer School 2015
  • Golf Classic 2015
  • Commencement 2015