News and Events


Clarke Nursing Department Captures State Nursing Association Awards

posted on November 29, 2007

The Clarke College Nursing Department again received most of the major awards given at the Iowa Association of Nursing Students Convention. The convention was held in conjunction with the Iowa Nurses Association Convention in October. Fifty of Clarke’s nursing students joined over 900 other students from across the state at the convention.

Senior Clarke nursing major Charli Kahler, of Champaign, Ill., was named the state’s Student Nurse of the Year. Kahler is a second-degree student and is currently president of the Clarke Association of Nursing Students (CANS). She has also served as the “breakthrough to nursing” director for CANS. She is involved in a variety of other leadership and service activities.

Sarah Bahl, of Dubuque, Iowa, received the Student to Student Scholarship of $1000, awarded for professionalism in nursing. A junior at Clarke, Bahl is currently treasurer of the Clarke Association of Nursing Students and is president of the College’s junior class. She is also involved in a variety of service and leadership activities at Clarke and in the Dubuque community.

Professor of Nursing Kay Frommelt, Ph.D. was named the Iowa Association of Nursing Students Teacher of the Year.  Frommelt has served on the Clarke nursing faculty since 1989. She holds bachelor’s and master’s degrees from the College of Dubuque and a Ph.D. from Walden College. Throughout her career she has been involved with Hospice of Dubuque, legislative lobbying for her profession, and working with HIV/AID patients.

Chair and Assistant Professor of Nursing Susan DeCrane was named the recipient of the Teresa E. Christy Award, presented to a registered nurse that has demonstrated professional commitment to the improvement of health care and the interrelationship of nursing education, nursing practice, and nursing research.  DeCrane holds a bachelor’s degree from the College of Dubuque and has completed a master’s degree from the College of Iowa and is ABD in the doctoral program.

In other news from the convention, Katie Selle, associate professor of nursing, was elected as a member of the Iowa Nurses Foundation (INF). The INF supports charitable, educational, literary and scientific activities related to nursing. She holds a bachelor of science in nursing degree from the College of Dubuque and a master of science degree from the College of Iowa.

For more information, contact the Clarke College Marketing and Communication Office at (563)588-6318.


  • Support Clarke - Spring
  • Arts at Clarke 2016
  • Transfer Fall 2015