News and Events


Clarke Professor Emerita Receives National Award

March 20, 2013:  Clarke University Professor Emerita of Drama, Carol Blitgen, BVM, was recently awarded “Distinguished Director of a Play” for the invited production of “The Glass Menagerie” at the Kennedy Center’s American College Theater Festival National Awards.

“Carol received this same award last year for our production of ‘The Caretaker,’” said chair and associate professor of drama, Ellen Gabrielleschi. “This is an exceptional honor for a director to receive this recognition two years in a row, but Carol is an exceptional artist and educator.”

Clarke student, Adam O’Dell also received a national achievement award for sound design and original score for “The Glass Menagerie.”  Earlier in the year, individuals from the Clarke University Drama Department received awards at the Kennedy Center's regional American College Theater Festival (ACTF) which took place Jan. 20-26, 2013, at the University of Nebraska - Johnny Carson School of Theater & Film in Lincoln, NE.

The Kennedy Center program began in 1969 to "encourage, recognize and celebrate the finest and most diverse work produced in university and college theater programs.” Clarke University participates in ACTF Region 5, competing among schools in Iowa, Minnesota, Kansas, Nebraska, South Dakota and North Dakota. Each year, the ACTF Region 5 typically reviews over 200 entries and selects four productions for performance in their regional festival.

Clarke drama productions have won numerous ACTF awards in recent years. In 2012, The Caretaker was selected to perform. The production received regional honors for set design, and went on to win the national award for director and student actor. At the 2011 festival, Clarke's production of Eurydice won regional awards for student poster design and student set design. And, in 2008, Agnes of God was selected to perform.

For more information, contact the Clarke University Marketing and Communication Office at (563)588-6318.


  • Support Clarke - Spring
  • Arts at Clarke 2016
  • Transfer Fall 2015