News and Events


Clarke College Celebrity Classic Scholarship Recipients Named

posted on July 10, 2006

Clarke College is pleased to announce the recipients of this year’s Clarke College Celebrity Classic Scholarship. Funding for this year’s scholarship was raised from the 18th annual Clarke College Celebrity Classic golf outing held on June 19. This year’s event featured two celebrity guests – NBA phenomenon Anthony “Spud” Webb and KWWL Sports Director Rick Coleman.

The recipients are:

  • Kristina Nesteby, of Hempstead High School, daughter of Scott and Pam Nesteby of Asbury, Iowa
  • Heather Haas, of Southwestern High School, daughter of Brian and Lisa Haas of Hazel Green, Wis.
  • Candice Yelden, of Senior High School, daughter of John Yelden of Dubuque, Iowa.
  • Kayla Demmer, of Western Dubuque High School, daughter of Richard and Kathy Demmer of Peosta, Iowa
  • Joel Smith, of Tri-State Christian School, son of Christian and Karen Smith of Dubuque, Iowa
  • Kayla Sullivan, of Bellevue Community High School, daughter of Lorin and Linda Sullivan of Bellevue, Iowa
  • Stephanie Schreiber, of Wahlert High School, is the daughter of Douglas and Theresa Schreiber of Dubuque, Iowa

Proceeds from the Celebrity Classic fund seven $2,500 scholarships for outstanding area high school students planning to attend Clarke College. Scholarships are offered to one graduating senior of Hempstead, Senior and Wahlert High Schools in Dubuque, and one each to graduating seniors attending an accredited high school in Dubuque County and Jackson County, both in Iowa, Jo Daviess County in Illinois and Grant County in Wisconsin.

Scholarship recipients are chosen based on demonstrated academic success and evidence of involvement in church, school and community activities. They are also chosen based on a personal interview and submitted essay.

For more information, contact the Clarke College Public Relations Office at (563)588-6318.


  • Support Clarke - Spring
  • Arts at Clarke 2016
  • Transfer Fall 2015