Clarke One of 20 Schools Selected to Help Strengthen Teacher Preparation

posted on March 21, 2006

Clarke College has been selected as one of only 20 leadership institutions in the Teachers for the 21st Century program, an initiative of the Council of Independent Colleges (CIC) to strengthen teacher preparation programs. Clarke was the only Iowa College named to the leadership group.

The Teachers for the 21st Century was developed by CIC with support of a $495,000 grant from the Microsoft Corporation. Over a four-year period, the program will assist faculty members to integrate information and communication technologies, content, skills, and literacies into courses taken by prospective teachers.

Each institution will be represented by a team of faculty members who are involved in teacher preparation, drawn both from the education department and from the arts and sciences disciplines in which teacher education students major. Clarke’s team consists of team leader Lynn Lester, BVM, associate professor of education; Deb Fordice, instructor of education and music; Larry Bice, assistant professor of education; Andrea Bixler, assistant professor of biology; and Jason Stecklein, instructor of chemistry.

The initial group of 20 institutions will work with CIC to develop a series of in-person workshops and on-line seminars, and to disseminate exemplary instructional materials.

“Clarke has long been recognized for excellence in teacher preparation and I’m confident that our team will be a tremendous asset to the Teachers for the 21st Century program,” said Clarke President Catherine Dunn, BVM, Ph.D.

The CIC program is one component of a major Microsoft initiative, known as Partners in Learning, which is collaborating with governments and educational institutions to improve K-12 education around the globe. The U.S. Partners in Learning initiative is a five-year, $35 million effort that involves several state initiatives, the development of high-quality materials at the national level, and the diffusion of effective practices to other settings.

Other institutions participating in the Teachers for the 21st Century project include Alverno College, Benedictine College, Catawba College, Chatham College, College of Mount St. Joseph, Ferrum College, Gannon College, Lesley College, Manchester College, Marywood College, Mercy College, Mount St. Mary’s College, Ottawa College, Pace College, Saint Leo College, Spring Hill College, St. Bonaventure College, The Sage Colleges, and Wheelock College.

For more information, contact the Clarke College Public Relations Office at (563)588-6318.


  • Summer School 2015
  • Founders' Society
  • Commencement 2015