Golf Classic



In June of 1989, Clarke University held its first golf outing fundraiser. Now, 25 years later, the Clarke University Golf Classic has become one of the premier annual golf events in the tri-state area.

In keeping with tradition, next year’s Golf Classic will be held at the Dubuque Golf and Country Club on Monday, June 2, 2014 (the first Monday of June).

All proceeds from the Classic were originally designated for Clarke’s athletic office and the construction of the Robert and Ruth Kehl Center. Since the completion of the Kehl Center, the funds have been raised in support of student scholarships.

In 2013, Clarke awarded 12, $2,500 scholarships to outstanding students from area high schools and Northeast Iowa Community College.

The Golf Classic offers golfers and guests 18-holes of golf, a midday meal and a gourmet dinner. The evening dinner program includes a live & silent auction and raffle.

For more information, contact the Institutional Advancement Office at (563) 588-6553, or by email at

Golf Classic Trophy

The Clarke University Golf Classic Trophy is crafted from the finest Galway Crystal. Nestled in the heart of the West of Ireland, on the shores of Galway Celebrity Classic Trophy PhotoBay, Galway Irish Crystal is steeped in the rich and diverse heritage of this unique hinterland. The crystal is designed to create inspiration with a touch of grace and elegance. The trophy is etched with the official logo of the Clarke University Golf Classic.

Each year, the winners of the Golf Classic have their names engraved on the trophy stand. This year's winners will join the following:

1989:  Individual Stroke Play - Dick McKay

1990:  Jim Arenz, Maury Conwell, Bud Loats, Burt Muir

1991:  Interrupted by Rain

1992:  David Field, Larry Legrand, Frank O’Connor, Jim Richardson

1993:  Ed Alt, Jamie Brock, Jim Klauer, Fred Kunnert

1994:  Larry Herrig, Dick McKay, Jim Rhomberg, Tom Yunt

1995:  Allen Carew, Jack Hancock, Steve Juergens, Bob Kehl

1996:  Dick McKay, John C. O’Connor,Jim Rhomberg, Bob Anderson

1997:  John O’Connor, Dick McKay, Bob Anderson, Jim Rhomberg

1998:  Dick McKay, Bob Anderson, Jim Rhomberg, Walter Hodge

1999:  Dick McKay, Bob Anderson, Jim Rhomberg, Walter Hodge

2000:  Mary Pat Kerper, John Baumhover, Steve Baumhover, Dave Norton

2001:  Dick McKay, Bob Anderson, Jim Kemp, Walter Hodge

2002:  Chuck Schrup, Bob Peacock, Bob Donovan, Mark Stevens

2003:  John Schoen, Jim Kennedy, Walter "Butch" Hodge, Merle Marting

2004:  Robert Miller, Ron Helle, Steve Juergens, Ron Kirchhoff

2005:  Michael DeWitte, Tom Chandler, Jeff Kelleher, Adam Arians

2006:  Mike Portzen, Mark Johannsen, Jim Ihm, Joe Hanson

2007:  Mike Portzen, Mark Johannsen, Jim Ihm, Joe Hanson

2008:  Jim Mulgrew, Jane Mueller, Matt Murray

2009:  Mike Donohue, Nick Zimmerman, Gary Dolphin, Jeff Potts

2010:  Loras Digmann, Gregg Liddle, Jeff Nagle, Kevin Weber

2011: Mike Portzen Sr., Mike Portzen Jr., Steven Ihm, Joe Hanson

2012: Doug Horstmann, Ty Puccio, Duane Frick, Greg Ladenhoff

2013: Andy Daughetee, Mike Latimer, Tim Latimer, Ryan Osterberger

  • Support Clarke - Spring
  • Arts at Clarke 2016
  • Transfer Fall 2015