Triangle Copy careerplus-badges careerplus-degree Created with Sketch. careerplus-employers Created with Sketch. careerplus-faq Created with Sketch. careerplus-individuals Created with Sketch. careerplus-local-experts Created with Sketch. careerplus-pricing careerplus-registration Created with Sketch. careerplus-responsive Created with Sketch. careerplus-self-paced Created with Sketch. careerplus-stackable Created with Sketch. + Facebook LinkedIn PinterestRSS Instagram Twitter Vine

Clarke Students Win at AAF Dubuque American Advertising Awards

By Clarke News  |  February 26, 2021

Clarke University students in the graphic design program received six gold and silver awards, four Judge’s Choice awards, and the Best of Show award in the student category at the Dubuque Chapter of the American Advertising Awards on Friday, February 19.

Clarke student winners include Charlotte Rodewald ’20, Megan Lenane ’22, and Susan Whitcher ’22.

Charlotte Rodewald won Student Best in Show for the third consecutive year for her project, “Environmental Horror.”

Graphic Design Senior Mariah Pellino ’21 was named the annual American Advertising Federation’s scholarship winner. Pellino shared, “I have poured my heart and soul into my artwork and projects over my last four years at Clarke and in the greater Dubuque community. I feel incredibly honored to be recognized for my efforts and look forward to continuing to make an impact in the Graphic Design, advertising, and arts communities.”

Louise Kames, chair and professor of art, said, “We are pleased to see the distinctive excellence and creativity of our graphic design student work acknowledged by our region’s design professionals. The repeated Clarke University Art + Design student success in this annual award program speaks to the high quality of instruction and professional atmosphere that exists here.”

Eric Wold, associate professor of graphic design, received the AAF Silver Medal Award, which is given annually to an outstanding member of the local advertising community for their contributions. Silver Medal recipients are selected by a panel of judges based on criteria such as creative ability, contributions to the individual’s organization, and community involvement. His nomination for this award cited his commitment to developing young professionals at Clarke.

The American Advertising Federation (AAF) is a national non-profit organization, promoting and protecting the interests of advertising and public relations. Locally, AAF Dubuque is the affiliate to the national organization and AAAward competition. The mission of the competition is to recognize and reward creative excellence in the art of advertising.

The complete list of Clarke award winners includes:

Charlotte Rodewald

Student Best of Show, Judge’s Choice, Gold ADDY: Environmental Horror

Illustration – Campaign

Silver ADDY: Environmental Horror

Out of Home Poster – Campaign

Silver ADDY: The Invisible Man

Illustration – Single

Megan Lenane

Gold ADDY: Rebel Rotini Food Truck

Integrated Campaign – Integrated Brand Identity Campaign

Gold ADDY, Judge’s Choice: Eye of the Unseen Secret Society

Integrated Campaign – Integrated Brand Identity Campaign

Judge’s Choice: English Honey

Susan Whitcher

Silver ADDY: The Healthy Hippy

Integrated Campaign – Integrated Brand Identity Campaign

Judge’s Choice: Sisterhood of the Black Flame